Finally, Kanzo

flight

A view from my plane on the flight home.

I’ve been mostly silent for the past couple of months. I was scrambling about, finding ways to scrounge up money to pay for and order items needed for Kanzo. I decided not to announce my plans in advance, as the last thing I needed was for someone to fling bad juju my way for whatever reason. So on July 11th I flew out of Seattle. I just returned from Philadelphia Monday night.

There were many times during my journey into Vodou when I feared I would never be able to Kanzo. In retrospect I wonder if the Lwa placed obstacles in my path in order to steer me in the direction I was meant to travel. And I certainly recognized home when I found it. It means a great deal to me to now be a member of Sosyete du Marche.

I have notes from my journey that I need to sort out, but I realize that it is not really possible to share much of them without revealing too much. Basic descriptions of the rites are already published on more than one website, so I don’t feel the need to revisit that here. Instead, I plan to write a few Kanzo-related posts in the next few weeks.

Parts of Kanzo were easier than I expected; other parts were more difficult than anticipated. Legba held me up when I thought I might falter. Mambo, Papa and the assisting mambos and houngans took good care of us. And the Lwa were always present.

I was very blessed to enter the djevo with four wonderful individuals, each powerful women in their own right. Three of them were close to my age. One was much younger, but wise beyond her years and quite charming.ย  When I call them sisters, it is not merely a formality. I love each of them and look forward to seeing them again.

Interesting sidenote, which will likely not surprise many of my readers: The djevo area seemed to wreak havoc on small electronics. More than one person experienced problems with their smart phones when near the djevo. My tote bag was stored nearby. After batem (baptism), when I took out my watch, it had lost over 2 hours of time. The battery is fairly new, and it has since regained its accuracy.

Also, don’t start calling me Houngan because I’m not one. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  More on that later.

 

6 Responses to “Finally, Kanzo”

  1. How wonderful for you! The sosyete I frequent was in Haiti this past week, too. Happy for you…

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      Thanks, Alex ๐Ÿ™‚ Although I wasn’t in Haiti; this Kanzo was stateside. However, if I decide to later Kanzo to a higher rank, then a trip to Haiti would be required.

  2. Beautiful, give thanks!

Leave a Reply

