Life, happiness and the acquisition of non-blood siblings

I’ve mentioned before that for many years I suffered from debilitating depression. It began in adolescence and continued on until my mid-thirties. It wasn’t chemical in origin, but situational, caused in part by poverty, loneliness, an awareness of social injustice (affecting me or others) and the loss of  loved ones, among other things. By the time the periods of depression subsided, a permanent mark was left on my psyche. Sometimes it is difficult for me to feel happy even when things are going well. The emotion doesn’t always kick in when it should.

During the past several years, however, I have moments of excitement and happiness  along with the neutral and darker moments. Vodou and other spiritual development play a large part in this—even though I still have my struggles like everyone else, I am gaining more access to a larger picture, one in which my current struggles are temporary. (And yes, part of this involves thinking about death, but not in a negative way.)

Recent positive things going on in my life:

  • The Four Circles online class I am taking with Sosyete du Marche. I am often happiest when learning, especially when it involves spiritual topics. I am interacting a little with some nice people there, one of whom I suspect may someday be an initiatory sister. The more knowledge I gain about Vodou, the more I know this is the right path for me. As I like to say, “All my gods are out of Africa.” Someday I’d like to write a post about that, but the ‘why’s’ of it are not something I am ready to articulate at this time.
  • An upcoming session with my medium/animal communicator friend (and one of my favorite people hands down), Tracy Ann. This promises to be an interesting one, and I have lots of questions for my animal kin as well as the other unseen folks around me. Stay tuned for an update on this.
  • A very unexpected compliment. I was chatting with a young woman in my local Vodou group. We were discussing various things about Vodou, when she mentioned that she trusted and looked up to me. This was just something offhand she said without realizing how much it meant to me. This young woman is very gifted and promises to be a talented mambo one day in the not-too-distant future.
  • An online friendship with another woman who lives in Canada. She and I have become like siblings and can discuss a wide range of spiritual topics comfortably. I’ve found that a lot of these types of online relationships come and go, but I’m hoping this one won’t go too soon. I will appreciate it while it lasts (which reminds me I need to get in touch with another online sibling).

A few of my friends have been questioning what they’ve done with their lives and feeling like failures because they haven’t accomplished things that others have, or because they haven’t done what society expects them to do (big money career, marriage, children, etc.). Please remember that you are here to learn, create and assist others. If you are a decent person and do these things, that is enough. You may never know how much a small act of kindness that you perform without thinking may affect someone’s life.

2 Responses to “Life, happiness and the acquisition of non-blood siblings”

  1. Thank you for this reminder. I often forget in my own doldrums that I am more than the sum total of what I haven’t accomplished.

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      A lot of expectations are just what society programs us to want or believe. The value of things is often not measured in money. For example, blogging. I learn a lot from and greatly enjoy reading blogs, yet they’re free. As far as titles, and status, I say bah. They are not without value, but are also not the measure of a person’s value.

Leave a Reply

