Relief: The Harsh Truth about International Aid

My friend Sandra Whiteley has a new film project in the works. Sandra is the director of Real Voodoo, which I reviewed previously. The new film, “Relief: The Harsh Truth about International Aid,” is a labor of love, as well as an important human rights project. Unlike “Real Voodoo,” this film is not backed by a studio. Sandra is producing this on her own, and seeking public support. Even a small contribution of $1 would be appreciated. $25 will get you a copy of the completed film.

The film will be made in Haiti and employ Haitian people to work on location.

As Vodouisants, we have a responsibility to give back to the country that birthed our faith. If you can’t contribute now, please spread the word.

Here is the description from the website:

Short Summary

I am a Canadian documentary filmmaker who first went to Haiti to follow a mobile medical mission. I was shocked by what I discovered. After that trip I made a human rights documentary entitled “Real Voodoo”. But for me that was not enough. I have seen first hand the failure of International AId as have many high profile authors and journalists. “Relief” will take my stories and those of other writers to expose the truth about International Aid. Relief will use Haiti as a backdrop but make no mistake the problem of aid is global.

I have spent the last 13 years working for the same company, I am now for the first time striking out on my own so I can tell the real story without restraints. I am not financially in the position to make the film that is why I need your help. Let us all use our voice to make a change.

What We Need & What You Get

We need $250,000 to make this film. The money covers the cost of the crew, the travel  the equipment and post production. We will be hiring Haitians to work on location with us to make certain that our film does not exploit the country but brings work and commerce to Haiti.

If you become a funder you will have the unique satisfaction that you may have changed the way people look at developing nations and the powers that try to control them.

The Impact

If you become a funder you will have the unique satisfaction that you may have changed the way people look at developing nations and the powers that try to control them.

My film “Real Voodoo” played in film festivals around the world and seriously impacted people’s views on a much maligned religion. During the Q & A’s following the screenings I heard so many people say “I just did not know that” I had one NGO commit to educating their workers on respecting cultural and spiritual beliefs. We can change the world and I want to do it, one film at a time. ANd you can help be a part of that change.

Other Ways You Can Help

If you cannot contribute but you belive this project to be worthwhile then share this with those who are in a position to help. Thank you so much

Sandra Whiteley, Director

www.indiegogo.com/projects/relief-the-harsh-truth-about-international-aid

One Response to “Relief: The Harsh Truth about International Aid”

  1. cheshirecatman Says:

    Reblogged this on The Hermit's Journey and commented:

    I’m reposting this as a reminder that there are only 16 more days to invest in this film, which could shed light on serious problems within international aid organizations. No amount is too small (and you can be anonymous), although there are some nice things you can get with slightly larger donations. Please consider giving; consider it an offering to the lwa and the place that gave birth to our faith.

Leave a Reply

