Blind faith and books

Ever since I was a kid I’ve had random people attempt to convert me to some form of Christianity. They are never successful because I was never raised in that paradigm. When I disagree with them, they often resort to quoting scripture to me, and I have to let them know that, to me (who was never a Christian) it is simply a book. I understand that it’s their holy book, but it’s still a book nonetheless, and one that has been edited numerous times for various reasons.

I am a very spiritual person in some ways, but I am also very grounded in this shared reality (sometimes more than I would like to be). I don’t do blind faith, I can’t. I won’t take your word for it, unless you are someone I’ve known for a while and I’ve come to trust your opinion. I can’t base my beliefs on any one book, although I love books and consider them invaluable to those of us exploring new belief systems, especially when we may not have access to experienced practitioners at any given time.

But ultimately, for me, whether I believe in something is going to be based on my personal experience. This is why I am on the path I am on now. It was not planned. I was, quite literally, guided here by my met tet, and the first time he contacted me I didn’t even know who he was.

So, for me, when doubt creeps in, I remember my experiences, many of which are hard to explain from a purely nonspiritual point of view. I love that I don’t have to rely on blind faith. Or books.

Ayibobo.

Leave a Reply

