Reminiscing on a lion painting

My girlfriend Anne is an accomplished artist in her own right. When we first met around 1990, she was showing her animal paintings at coffee houses and restaurants around Seattle. A couple of years later she became a serious sculptor, although she continued to paint regularly.

She painted the piece above maybe a decade ago. It’s small, measuring about 12” x 9” and was most likely created for some show or other. I immediately fell in love with it when she showed it to me. A friend of hers complained that the lion “looked too human,” but that was one of the things I liked best about it. He doesn’t look human to me, per se, but he does appear lost in contemplation.

I liked the painting so much that she ended up giving it to me, and it hangs on the wall of my studio as I write this. I’ve long been overly fond of cats, but leopards and jaguars tended to be my favorite. However, after reading books by Linda Tucker and Murry Hope and catching glimpses of Sekhmet during meditations, this painting takes on new meaning and I gain a deeper appreciation of the piece, my girlfriend and whatever mysteries inspired her to paint it in colors sacred to the goddess herself.

Leave a Reply

