Esoteric Book Conference

Today I attended the Esoteric Book Conference for the first time. It’s a small and relatively new conference (in its fourth year), held at Seattle Center.

I arrived there around 9:15 a.m., picked up my badge and checked out the booksellers. I am quite proud of myself, having been in a roomful of interesting books and managing to escape with only one 234-page book on Egyptian magick in my hand, which put me out all of $4.00. (It helped that I’d just finished culling my magickal book collection at home, and was not looking to replace everything I’d let go of.) I ran into a friend there, “Greg,” who I sometimes see at fets (we also have mutual friends). He is the person who bought my Ghede busts, and he assures me they are quite at home on his Ghede altar.

I then walked through the art show, where another friend is showing her work. The art show isn’t huge, but the quality of the art was quite high.

Around 10:40 I headed over to the Olympic Room to attend Mambo Pat’s lecture on esotericism in Haitian Vodou. I was warmly greeted by Mambo Pat and her husband, as well as Mambo C. Mambo Pat talked at length about the different groups of people who, at various times, inhabited Haiti and the lasting influences they left upon Vodou. She is an engaging speaker and a few times she sang short songs for us, which was a treat. I guess it’s obvious that I really like her and enjoy her company. I hope I can return to Philadelphia in the near future.

P.S. I haven’t forgotten about the last Philadelphia post; I will get it finished and up this weekend.

3 Responses to “Esoteric Book Conference”

  1. Oh dear, I wish I’d known you were going to be about–I’d have gone earlier to meet you! I was in the dealers’ room from about 2-4pm.
    PS – is “Greg” a gentleman who is always dapperly dressed and wears a hat with a feather in it (quail, I think?)? I met him briefly through Gayle at Gargoyles in the U District and he provided me with some very excellent Four Thieves’ Vinegar, and ever since I’ve been wanting to meet him again but haven’t got any contact info.

  2. cheshirecatman Says:

    That sounds like Greg all right. If you like I can pass your message along.

    • I wouldn’t dream of being rude enough to ask for his Four Thieves’ recipe, but if he doesn’t mind telling the provenance of it I’d love to know! It’s the single most effective recipe I’ve ever had, even better than the Lucky Mojo version. If you could ask him to email me at heliokinesis@gmail.com I’d be much obliged. Thanks so much for making the connection!

Leave a Reply

