New Vodou film: “Real Voodoo”

I’m so excited, I’ve been waiting for this for months! Yesterday my friend Sandra Whiteley informed me that her film, “Real Voodoo,” is now available on DVD!

This hour-long documentary, directed by Whiteley with music provided by the talented Jaffa, provides a much needed unbiased glimpse into this beautiful and much misunderstood faith. You can read a review of it here, or visit the website where the DVD is now available for order. (I plan to order my copy soon.)

Sorry I cannot give you my thoughts on the film just yet, but I haven’t actually seen it. However, I did love this line from the linked Montreal Gazette review: “Filmmaker Whiteley has achieved a good balance, giving herself a presence in the film, without making it all about her, as some documentary filmmakers tend to do.” Much as I loved the footage of the rituals and interviews with Haitians in Richard Stanley’s film (“The White Darkness”), I did find myself getting impatient when the director spent too much time on camera.

Hope you enjoy “Real Voodoo” as much as I anticipate I will. I will be adding it to the Bibliography/Filmography page soon.

Ayibobo!

2 Responses to “New Vodou film: “Real Voodoo””

  1. More positive and educational media for Voodoo! Yay!!

  2. I’ll be interested in seeing this film as well, but being a vegan, I’m into studying Mambo Sallie Ann Glassman’s Vodou (her book is titled: Vodou Visions) that is a vegetarian life of Vodou.

Leave a Reply

