Inspiration and gratitude

I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately, feeling tired and unmotivated. I haven’t been sculpting much. On Monday, however, I felt like a weight was being lifted from my shoulders. Now I feel lighter and more positive than I have in months. There could be several reasons why this is.

On Sunday night I sent a large (for me) donation to the Global White Lion Protection Trust. This was part of an agreement I made with Sekhmet some months back; if she helped me to get my art out there and make sales, then a percentage of those sales would be dedicated to her. And I could not think of a better way to do that than by donating to organizations that work to save big cats from extinction. There are several groups that I like, but I decided to go with Linda Tucker’s white lion group this time around. I read her amazing book “The Mystery of the White Lions: Children of the Sun God” shortly after Sekhmet first made contact. Reading the book and listening to the goddess resulted in a significant shift in some of my beliefs. Perhaps the goddess is pleased with the donation and has gifted me with creative fire. (I have a new bust of her in progress, which I’ll post photos of at some point down the road.)

On Monday I made my usual offering to Legba, and realized that my body tells me when he is present. I seem to respond to spirit in physical ways; in this case with a slight pressure in my head (which is much preferable to past arm pain and upset stomach, to be sure).

I’ve been feeling grateful. There are many things I don’t have, but I have a steady day job, my art work, and my basic needs are met. I have a girlfriend who is amazingly accepting of my various unconventional beliefs and who is a diehard animal lover. I live with some wonderful furballs and I have more than adequate food and shelter.

Also recently, I’ve removed some negative influences from my life, with no regrets. It needed to be done. I spend time online to learn, network and have fun, and some sites were causing more aggravation than fun.

The positive feeling is one of hope, as if I have a bit more control over my life than I felt I had before. This feeling is now reflected in my eating habits; I’ve gained some weight over the winter, and am inspired now to take better care of myself. I ate lighter quantities yesterday with very little effort, and had energy to sculpt last night.

So now that I have more energy, my next task is to revise another post that I’ve had in progress for about a month now 😉

Leave a Reply

