Why I don’t do New Age

The other day I attempted to sign up for an online starseed forum. Now, normally the very term “starseed” translates into “Danger! Danger Will Robinson!” in my mind, but occasionally I have moments of weakness and seek answers to some of my personal questions from  other incarnate earth peoples. As has often happened before, this was a major lapse of judgment.

The first problem was during the sign up process. I had to choose my type from several choices, and I did not know which to select as I am not one thing and not even 100 percent sure of the ones that I think I might be. Then the registration form asked, “What is the most powerful force in the universe?” I made the mistake of being honest, and attempted to type in “I don’t know.” The registration failed to go through. I was a bit surprised to realize that whomever set up this site thought there was a wrong or right answer! So then I guessed “God” and that was also wrong!! I only got it right when I thought of typing in the most New Agey thing I could thing of, and that was “love.” Bingo.

Registration process completed, I had to go to my email inbox, open a message from them, click the link and then I’d be a member. Or so I thought. Wrong! I had to fill out a profile form before I was approved to join their group of enlightened beings. I tried. I really did. But I reached my line in the sand when I got to the part of the form asking me to describe in some detail my “mission.”

Now, if I knew my precise “mission” (presuming there is one) I would not have any use for their forum. I would simply finish my mission and get the hell out of here. The whole “special purpose” belief is one of the things that irks me the most about these New Agey starseed types (to me, it suggests that nonstarseed humans have no purpose and are less special). I stared at the screen. Damn. If I typed “I don’t know” then the answer would be wrong and I would not be allowed to join (me weeps big tears here, NOT). And I was not willing to spend any amount of time composing an elaborate lie just to get in. It was time to throw in the towel. At least my friend Snow (who I was chatting with at the time) and I had a good laugh about it. I suppose that’s worth something.

My original plan had just been to join the forum and read up on any info relevant to my beliefs. I would likely have had to quit sooner rather than later anyway, it happened before when I was part of a walk-in forum and the administrator laughed at my therian ideas while believing herself to be an angel or alien something. The hypocrisy of some “special” people blows my mind at times. I am better off relying on myself and my network of lwa, guides, mediums, energy workers and Vodou folks.

In closing, I’d like to share Robert’s Rant. Robert is the owner of Edge of the Circle Books, one of my favorite Seattle shops. Enjoy 🙂

12 Responses to “Why I don’t do New Age”

  1. That forum sounds like it would have been no help at all. Clearly they’re filtering out anyone who doesn’t already share their beliefs. If they’re all espousing the same stale ideas surely they’ll be hostile to any newcomers.

    And that attitude is the reason I think of Robert as one of the most well-grounded people I know.

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      I didn’t realize you are in the Seattle area, how cool! I thought the photo on your blog looked a little like St. James Cathedral, but I wasn’t sure. A friend of mine sells her wares on consignment at his shop, and he is a pleasure to work with.

      And I expect you are right about that forum. Meh, New Age.

      • I’ve noticed since moving to Seattle that one can hardly shake a wand without hitting another magic user. And yes, that was the St. James!

  2. I know how you feel. I have registered to some forums that turned into very big WTF moments. The thing is that the way I sometimes asses the forum is to go into the pictures section first. If there is a large amount of what I call “facebook” type shots I usually have an idea what I’m dealing with. But then there are some forums where it is WAY ULTRA serious all the time. That they will tell you off the bat if it doesnt apply to ABorC then it can’t be posted.
    Now although these sights usually have been helpful in skimming information when you ask a question itgets complicated. They want to know who your joined with, who’s your teacher, etc, etc. When you tell them you are on your own they start saying how you can’t do what your doing unless your “connected”.
    I feel like some times the “New Agers” can be clickie, almost like high school. But I respect those who are respectful to me.

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      I agree about being respectful to those who are respectful to you. I can tolerate many very far out ideas (I’d be a hypocrite if I didn’t) without necessarily believing them myself. But having an “out-there” person telling you that you are “out-there” is too ridiculous.

  3. I like the “mission” part, that’s funny! LOL. We live and we die and move on to another existence, sometimes people don’t know what their purpose is in life or what they want to do. You’ve got Mambo Kineta and a host of great vodou friends, don’t worry about starseed Cheshire! I think water is the strongest force, we can’t stop the oceans and the seas.

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      I totally agree about some people not knowing their purpose in life. That’s just the way it is. Plus I think a person can have more than one purpose, some are consciously chosen in this life while others are not. Either way, “regular” humans are not less special than self-proclaimed starseed types; in fact I know many “regular” humans who are likely far more special than some of the “starseed” will ever be.

  4. I totaly agree with the other comments. I too have come across this mindset. Its amazing how much the ..”our way or the highway” mentality with these so called “spiritually evolved” people can be found everywhere. Its like any other belief. People take a good thing and twist it into something else. Organized religions have long mastered this art. Its probably a good thing their questionaire is so scary…it keeps those of us who dont want to drink the special “kool-aid” from being blind sided. Kind of an early warning system. As you so wonderfully put it..Danger Will Robinson…Danger! *grins*

  5. sharRrakkk Says:

    This kind of attitude seems to be all around all the online communities dealing with anything remotely related to “spiritual”/magico-religious ideas – of whatever kind. I personally blame it on the tendency to ‘live-out’ fantasies of omnipotence etc.; you know, the usual.

  6. cheshirecatman Says:

    Angel: I think it’s the human tendency for “mob” mentality.

    sharRrakkk: Yup, pretty much. That darned need to be speshul.

  7. I don’t really want to post on a topic this old let alone repeat what others have said but I felt I need to voice something here.

    Everywhere in the metapysical commuity there are different groups, nitches, and such. In each and everyone there are “know it alls”. This expands out ward in to everything in human exsistance.
    That’s how it works…but no one is close to the truth. We need to in compass and understand everyones point of veiw and belifes before being able to make any assumtion at all to The Truth.
    I’m 20 years old…I have looked into almost every non christian religion since I was 13 and my mother bought me a wiccan book called The Real Witches Year. I will not set my mind down on one religion belife or anyof the like because in every single one there are these “know it alls”. If anything it comes down to the basic human flaws. I understand the fustration and confusion with the syarseed forums but that doesnt make them any worse than say the multitude of pagans I meet who are “all knowing and powerful” and cast me aside when I speak the truth or dont comply to thier ways. Like, I stated before these kinds of people are in every group of interst, belife, or fandom.
    What I am trying to get at is do not jude them for the insecurities and basic human flaws they aren’t ready to grow up nor ready to find The Truth.
    May the Great Spirit guide you.
    ~Nova

    • cheshirecatman Says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful comments and it is perfectly fine to comment on an post here regardless of date. I’m afraid I have a strong cynical streak and the ridiculousness of the situation inspired this post. But I do agree with you about these behaviors being part of human nature and prevalent in a lot of groups.

Leave a Reply

