Saturday spirit work: Sekhmet and the Ghede

For the past week and a half I’ve had problems with my left eye, possibly due to worsening allergies. My eye was so dry that it’s been causing problems with my contact lens to where I could only wear them for a few hours a day. It was getting so bad that a couple of days ago I asked Sekhmet for healing assistance. I also asked Baron Samedi and Maman Brigitte for their assistance as well, and used Shannon Knight’s healing meditation that I learned from her Intuitive Bootcamp workshop.

Yesterday there was a marked improvement with the eye. I was able to wear the lens without any problems all day at work, and today I’ve been wearing it all day without incident. I feel almost normal. And very blessed.

I thanked the goddess Sekhmet, and today did the first exercise from the book that my friend Angel recommended to me, “The Goddess Sekhmet: Psycho-Spiritual Exercises of the Fifth Way” by Robert Masters. I had to focus on images of the goddess in order to internalize her and make it easier to call up her image later without having to use external props. I found this exercise very pleasurable (I enjoy looking at her). It was also not difficult, as she has already popped into my mind a few times without any assistance from me.

When I work with Sekhmet, I like to draw a card from the Cartouche deck. Today I got Hathor, which was fitting, as she is an aspect of Sekhmet. The card emphasized fortitude, which I need right now to implement various changes in my life. I then lit some incense for her.

Drawing the Hathor card makes me think back on my last session with my animal communicator/medium friend, Tracy Ann. In my notes from that session, I wrote:

“[You] have that wild magic. Wild magic running through veins. You understand that. Are able to call it as well. Start practicing that. If it starts to feels too heavy, call on feminine energy.ā€

Regarding the feminine energy, Tracy sees letters. A name?

H E R M O T PH E

(You can read about the full session here.) It is sometimes difficult for mediums to decipher words and names clearly, and I am now wondering if the name that Tracy was receiving was Hathor. A possibility.

After working with Sekhmet, I went over to my Ghede/ancestor altar and lit candles for the Baron, Maman Brigitte and the ancestors, thanking them for their healing assistance. I also presented the Baron and Brigitte with a gift: a small metal African sculpture depicting a man and woman in the act. It’s stylized and artistic, but I figured they would appreciate the ribald nature of the piece.

In closing, I’d like to share this cool Sekhmet video I found on YouTube.

2 Responses to “Saturday spirit work: Sekhmet and the Ghede”

  1. I really appreciated this… I would love to talk with you more šŸ™‚

  2. cheshirecatman Says:

    Thanks. Your blog looks interesting and I will check it out. If you would like offsite discussion, my email is cheshirecatacombs@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

