Illness, intuitive bootcamp and interconnectiveness

I am a bit behind on writing about my intuitive bootcamp progress (an over-the-phone workshop with Shannon Knight, see link on the homepage of this blog) due to some health problems, which seem to be connected with spiritual growth and an overall “self-makeover” of sorts.

Early in May I decided to go on a 3-week, somewhat extreme diet to shed some unwanted pounds that have piled up since I entered my 40s. While the diet is highly effective, it also exhausted me and left me open to other health problems. I sometimes grind my teeth when I sleep and, during the second week of the diet, woke up with nasty pain on the left side of my jaw.

The worst of the pain lifted after about three days, but then my allergies hit full force and, between the inflamed nerves and my exhaustion, a very nasty sinus infection developed. Thanks to some healing work from Angel (her blog is also linked on the homepage, “Walking by the Light of the Moon”) and techniques learned from Shannon and my Zimbate teacher, I am now close to fully recovered. I mainly note this process here because the diet and the bootcamp began around the same time, and both seem to be ending around the same time. And this seems right somehow. It really does help spiritual development if one’s body is in good shape.

Last Sunday Shannon taught me how to read auras. Of all the exercises I’ve done so far in the bootcamp, this one proved to be the most difficult for me. We went through each chakra to see what images or colors came up. Some were straightforward. For instance, when reading my heart chakra I saw a very tall forest tree, which for me means good health and grounding in nature. Others, however, were very confusing. When I read my throat chakra, I saw this weird jumble of images, black on red, that resembled woodblock prints of historical characters or playing cards. I am not sure what that meant. I need a lot more practice in this area.

Today she taught me how to balance my energies, which I knew would be an important one for me. I remember Mambo C telling me that my male and female energies were unbalanced. Shannon explained what this meant very clearly to me today. Basically, male energies are about receiving and female energies are about giving, and having some empathic ability I am more of a giver than receiver, to the point that I have made myself into a martyr in the past. I’ve mostly recovered from this in the last 10 or 15 years, but there is still room for improvement. Shannon said this is not uncommon for introverted people. After running through the balancing exercise with Shannon, I felt more balanced and it motivated me to make a phone call I’ve been putting off (I hate making phone calls, unless it’s someone I really want to talk to).

During this session,  I told Shannon about my recent spiritual dream in sci fi guise, and she mentioned that, since working with me, she’d had a number of galactic-oriented dreams (not common for her) and kept running into information about human-animal consciousness. I always find it fascinating when people reach a connection that goes beyond a conscious level. Just one of those times when you know you’ve found a teacher who is right for you.

Next week is my last bootcamp session. I will miss these when they’re gone. I hope to take another workshop with her in the future, but likely it won’t be this year, mainly because I need to save my money for the lave tet this summer. But that’s okay, Shannon has given me some new tools and techniques to work with, and it would be a good idea for me to master these before taking the next step.

Leave a Reply

