Altar upgrades and a sculpture

Here’s some photos to look at, in contrast to the longer entries I’ve been posting. I’ve made some upgrades to my altars.

Legba altar

Upgrades to my Legba altar

On the wall behind Legba’s altar, I’ve proudly displayed a painting I recently purchased from a kind and talented artist I connected with through our respective blogs. What I love about her painting is Legba’s resemblance to the description I was given (by Tracy Ann, my medium friend) during one of our sessions, when he first made himself known to me. You can see more of this wonderful artist’s work (as well as a better photo of Legba) by visiting Erzulie Red Eyes Art and Spirit.

I also thought I’d include a shot of this cool mini Legba candle made for a Gargoyles Statuary art show by my friend Slinky:

Legba Mini Candle

The larger versions of this candle are available at Edge of the Circle Books. You won’t see them on the website, but if you call and ask for them, they will be happy to assist you.

I’ve also made some upgrades to my Sekhmet shrine. I’ve added a very cool incense burner that I found at Gargoyles Statuary, as well as a candle in a blue votive and some wonderful incense named for her (“Spear of Sekhmet” incense, how cool is that?). The incense is by East of the Sun, West of the Moon, and came wrapped in some beautiful fabric that reminds me of fire and blood. The incense is also sold at Gargoyles (yes, I shop there a lot). Next time I visit there, I will be picking up a new Sekhmet statue, larger than the one I currently have in her shrine. Very cool stuff. You can also see my cartouche cards; I  thought that would be an appropriate place to keep them when not in use.

Sekhmet altar

Upgrades to Sekhmet's shrine

sphinx

Sphinx incense burner

And finally, now that I am through plugging some of my favorite artists and businesses, here’s a photo of my recent Sekhmet sculpture:

Sekhmet sculpture, created by the author

OK, that’s it for now. Next time, it will be back to more text and fewer pics 🙂

4 Responses to “Altar upgrades and a sculpture”

  1. YAY!!! Tha painting looks excellent with your altar!! I’m so happy you love it! I like your spirit doll! Thank you Cheshire!

  2. cheshirecatman Says:

    The painting looks great there. I love it!

  3. I am from Belize and studying to be a Mambo, almost there. I love your Papa Legba altar, mine has only his veve on canvas that I painted as there is little to purchase here in my country concerning the arts except plain candles, I do all the work myself. Your altar is an inspiration. I can see why Papa opens your doors! Latablessings to you, Lola

  4. cheshirecatman Says:

    Thank you Lola! And how exciting that you will be a Mambo soon.

    I think a veve on canvas drawn by you may be more powerful than something purchased at a shop, because you put time, energy and care into creating it. A lot of magickal traditions place high value on creating your own items.

Leave a Reply

