What’s good for the soul

This entire week I have been off work, on vacation to work on sculpting. As a result, I’ve eaten better,  exercised regularly, slept better and spent at least 5 hours at the art table each day.

Normally, I don’t remember many of my dreams, but this week I seem to remember them nearly every morning. Most of them are just the “mental rehash” ones–nothing deep, but it’s still nice to remember them.

So, I draw the conclusion that art is very good for my soul, a necessary activity that promotes my mental and spiritual health. I also think there is much to be said for slowing down and spending more of one’s time engaged in something you love doing. None of this is news, of course, but this week has proven to me the truth of those ideas.

I’m also enjoying reading Sylvia Browne’s “Afterlives of the Rich and Famous.” I purchased this as mind candy–a fun read about what some celebrities are up to on the other side. However, in the book she describes the afterlife in some depth and I found myself intrigued, largely because some of it resonates with my own experiences.

For example, in her book she describes the other side as looking much like Earth, only more idealized, and souls engage in work that is important to them, such as research or helping the newly disincarnated souls adjust to being Home (her term for the other side). This is a much more exciting idea to me than an idealized Heaven where one flies with angels and spends all one’s time singing praises to God (no offense, but booooring for all eternity). Many of us on Earth are passionate about our work, and the idea of being able to continue one’s work (or engage in work that perhaps you had no opportunity for in your earthly life) is very appealing.

This idea also makes sense because, during my sessions with my animal communicator/medium friend, my loved ones often remark that “they’ve been busy” helping out on that side. Which would make me wonder, busy doing what?

When I am finished with this book, I plan to read another book by Browne, particularly because these descriptions of the afterlife have given me a profound inner peace that I have not felt in ages.

5 Responses to “What’s good for the soul”

  1. BLKILLUMINATI Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you are intrigued by Sylvia Browne’s book. I finished reading it a couple of weeks ago and very much enjoyed it. Might I suggest if Sylvia Browne’s collective work intrigues you further to consider reading, The Other Side and Back. I hope you enjoy it. Blessings to you and your readers.

  2. cheshirecatman Says:

    Thanks, I have that book as well as two others and plan to read at least one of them soon.

  3. I haven’t read Sylvia’s books, I ‘ve seen her appearances on The Montell show. It would be nice to be able to continue doing my art and things i love when i leave this earth. That’s my biggest worry, that I won’t be able to draw and paint when i pass away. Art is my passion in life.

  4. much of what’s been said resonates: the importance of art and being creative in relation to the soul. It brings comfort to know that there may well be an afterlife where the suffering of our own world is gone. A question that still leaves me cold however is WHY? Why should there be such a process in place? Ultimately, of course, why does God exist?

  5. cheshirecatman Says:

    Browne believes that we need the harshness of earth to further our spiritual development. That does make sense to me, but I don’t always feel that way when something really bad is happening.

Leave a Reply

