Telephones and watches

I have a long history of screwing up my land line phones. I can buy a brand new phone and it will be fine for a little while, and then gradually the reception will become filled with static. I do not seem to have this problem with cell phones (I just ruin those the normal way, such as washing them with my clothes), just the land line phones.

For a while I was using a cordless phone and this seemed to work quite well. Then, after reading an article about the possible harmful effects of wireless signals, I decided to get another regular phone. I bought it brand new via Amazon (it’s growing harder and harder to find regular corded phones in local shops) and it worked well for a couple of months. Then one day I pick it up to call a friend and realize that none of the buttons work any more.

So now I have to buy a new phone. Again. Wish me luck.

I also seem to be able to adjust the time setting on my analog watch without trying to. I will look down, and it’s either stopped or the time is wrong. Then I’ll reset it and it’s fine. I don’t know if the setting knob is catching on my clothing or what, but if it is, I never feel it.

I wake up around 4:30 am to get ready for work. On Friday, I got out of bed, fed the cats and glanced down at my watch as I started to shave. The watch said 3:52, and I thought, “What the hell?” I thought that maybe I work up too early, but then remembered that my alarm clocks (yes, clocks, I am hard to wake up) both went off. So, unless I reset them without remembering it, then it’s not 3:52.

What distinguishes this incident from my usual watch faux pas is that my watch was exactly one hour behind. The actual time was 4:52. I found that interesting, and do not have a good explanation for it.

Could be coincidence. Or maybe I was  abducted by aliens for exactly one hour (joking).

Leave a Reply

