Art show Vodou

Last weekend Norwescon was held at the Doubletree Hotel in SeaTac, Washington. Norwescon is one of the largest regional science fiction and fantasy conventions in the United States. I’ve been showing there regularly since 2005. And I never sell a thing.

Two years ago I came close. Someone bid on one of my smaller sculptures. I got all excited, only to arrive at the art show on the last day to find that the would-be buyer never paid for the piece nor picked it up. So my record of zero sales at this particular convention remained intact.

Last weekend marked the 6th year I’ve been showing up at this con. And this year proved to be different. The difference is that I walk with the lwa now.

Before the convention, I stood before my shrines and asked Papa Legba and my lwa to help me do better at art shows. On Thursday I traveled from Seattle to SeaTac and set up my table and attended the artist reception. And then I went home.

The following day, while I was at work, a friend who was attending the con called me and said I had bids on three of my pieces. Not one, three. Surprise, disbelief, then excitement passed through me in rapid waves.

On Sunday I arrived early at the convention and decided to walk through the art show before hitting the dealer’s room and some  convention events. I had to see the bid tags for myself to make sure they were real. Sure enough, they were.

A few hours later, just before the art show closed, I saw that two of the buyers had picked up their artwork. One of the three pieces was still on the table waiting for pickup. And a fourth piece was gone—purchased via direct sale!

I was flabbergasted. And here’s the kicker: three of the four sold pieces had Vodou themes. (In the photo above, note the three framed reliefs.)

I never had stuff like this happen to me when I was Wiccan. Of course, part of the reason for that could be that I was not particularly good at spellwork. Which apparently does not matter in Vodou. A polite request was enough.

And of course keeping one’s promises. Sunday evening, after a dinner celebration at a wonderful Thai restaurant, I went to the grocery store and purchased various offering foods for my lwa.

I reallly do love them.

2 Responses to “Art show Vodou”

  1. Awesome examples, gonna bookmark this for later use when I will create my own comments form

  2. cheshirecatman Says:

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

