Ogoun x 3

I had a pleasant Sunday. I spent a couple of hours in the presence of the lwa. I lit candles for Legba, La Sirene, Agwe, Erzulie and Ogoun and gave them offerings of various beverages they like. As I stood in front of their shrines, I could feel the field of their energy emanating out towards me. I held out my hands and offered them some of mine. I was hoping that my met tet would make himself known (I say ‘himself’ because, at this time, the strongest contenders appear to be Agwe and Ogoun).

I then did a tarot reading for myself using the Celtic Cross spread. And Ogoun showed up in the reading no fewer than three times.

Agwe does not show up much but, in all fairness, that could be due to the particular deck I am using, the Raymond Buckland deck. I like the Buckland deck because it does not use the typical European imagery and I feel a kinship to the Rom (commonly referred to as Gypsies), possibly because my mother’s people were also traditionally nomadic (Inuit). When I look through the Buckland deck, however, I do not see a lot of images that bring Agwe to mind–maybe some of the koros (cups) cards or the Page of Bolers, who resembles a spirit who appeared to me twice (a spirit whose identity I am unsure of). On the other hand, Agwe is the powerful sovereign of the seas, and if he wanted to show up, I’m sure he would find a way regardless of which deck I’m using.

The cards that remind me of Ogoun showed up three times in today’s reading. In position one, the forces at work around me, was the Knight of Koshes (wands), who in the Buckland deck is a carnival performer dressed in red and carrying torches.  (Ogoun’s colors are red and blue; he is associated with fire).

In position seven, the querent’s self (in this case, me), was the King of Chivs (swords). In the Buckland deck he is an older man dressed in a black suit and a bowler hat. There is a knife stuck into the ground in front of him, and in his other hand is a staff with an anhk at the top. The Buckland book gives the card’s meaning as follows: “Wisdom, authority, military or governmental intelligence, justice, power.” Ogoun Badagris is a general and politician.

In position ten, the final outcome, was the 8 of Chivs (swords), who in the Buckland deck is another carnival performer, a knife thrower. He again is dressed in red, and appears very strong and confident even though there is blood on the knifeboard where his assistant’s leg has been knicked by a knife. Ogoun is associated with metal and weapons.

I don’t know if Ogoun is my met tet or not, but he does have the habit of showing up a lot in my readings, including the one Mambo C did for me. I hesitate to say that he is at this time, as I have not yet experienced possession by a lwa. If he is my met tet, he is probably shaking his head in disbelief that I am not getting it yet.

Leave a Reply

