Divination, dolls and symbols

Today I bought a very fancy doll for Erzulie’s shrine from an artist I admire (see her work at Studio Nocturna). Upon asking for Erzulie’s thoughts, I drew one Cartouche card from the deck. Interestingly, the card was No. 5, Thoth. I guess I should not have expected a simple yes or no (chuckles), but this card seems significant because it shows the Caduceus, the symbol of healing and the medical field. I have a friend who was just diagnosed with acute leukemia, and this card seems to suggest that Erzulie is willing to assist her. I plan to commission the artist to create an Ogoun doll for me, as I am having trouble finding a doll or statue that I like for his shrine.

Last week I was seeking input on another Vodou-related purchase and drew card. No. 21, the Sphinx, which made me reflect back upon the dream I had about the winged woman in the tree. (I’m still unsure about the meaning of the dream.)

It’s funny how certain symbols repeatedly surface in our lives at certain times.

Leave a Reply

