Lwa connections

This past week or so I’ve been feeling real affection from and for both Papa Legba and La Sirene. I feel listened to and cared for. This is a first for me, as far as religious experience goes. When I was Wiccan there were deities that I felt an affinity for, but I don’t remember feeling reciprocation on their part. The lwas are different. They aren’t archetypes, or energy stores, they are real. During my trip to Gargoyles on Thursday, I ordered a beautiful ornate mirror for La Sirene with a mermaid design on it. I think she will like it. I need to find something nice for Legba too. I hope to go to the Northwest African American Museum soon. They have an amazing gift shop with some sculptures and figures that I like a lot. Last time I was there I purchased a small bust of an African woman for myself and a stylized sculpture of an African American farmer for my girlfriend. Eventually I would like to get a 3-dimensional figure for Legba to put in his shrine.

I had an interesting online chat Sunday night with my friend Angel, an energy worker (check out her blog Walking by the Light of the Moon). She can connect with spirits much easier than I can. I’ve been wanting to get a reading from a houngan or a mambo to see which lwas are around me, but wondered if Angel would be able to pick up on any of them. Below are excerpts from our conversation, edited for length and with punctuation added by me for easier readability:

Angel: I’m starting to connect.. getting images and feelings..

Me: OK.

Angel: I see an elderly woman.. very thin.. she is not white but is not very dark in her coloring.. and she has white or grey hair .,. not sure.. she is smiling.. and very much connected to you as a guide of some sort..(tell me if this even slightly connects for you.. or if I am completely off-base.. LOL  but, don’t tell me any info.. just confirm if it connects with you.)

Me: Not sure, but sometimes that happens and it makes sense later.

Angel: Let me get more info..sometimes I can pull in a detail that will help. She is probably in her 80’s and is very cool. She seems very happy yet will kick your butt if you do something stupid.. LOL I like her a lot.. ok this is odd. I think she smokes a pipe.. LOL or cigars, something usually considered more masculine and does not seem to fit with how she looks..

Me: That is interesting.

Angel: Cornmeal.. somehow is connected to her too. or flour.. not sure,..

Me: OK that is very interesting.

Angel: Oh yeah?? Dont tell me anything, just if it connects.

Me: Cornmeal I know is an offering some of the lwa like, but i’m not sure which ones.

Angel: I will warn you now.. I suck at names. lol but sometimes can get at least the sound.. so hopefully if you hear it .. you will be able to figure it out..

Me: I understand.

Angel: Also water is important to her..for cleansing.. I think…energy wise. Hmm, maybe the attributes will at least point you in the right direction if I cant get her name.. gonna see if I can get it..she is laughing at me..smiles.. I really like her energy. Ooh red stones.. like ruby and garnets connect with her too..

Me: That is very interesting.

Angel: Red that color.. means something to her. Does that make sense??

Me: Not yet, but I will look up in some books later. I read so much and all of it starts to run together.

Angel: Hmm I think her name has an R in it..

Me: But a lot of the lwas have those kinds of preferences, so that is a good starting point.

Angel: Thats what I am hoping.. she seems to want you to know..OK back to working on the name and anything else I can get. It’s almost like Rita.. but not.. just has that sound in it.. I think. LOL. I think there is a sound before that. Something ITA…Do you have a list of names you can look at ?? Anything female that is even close??

Me: A short list. I am finding something interesting and checking now.

Angel: Ok. Cool. She almost feels like a mambo. Not sure though since I cant say I have really met any.. lol.

Me: Interesting. Well, not sure here…the name I thought was close is Maman Brigitte. She is wife of Baron Samedi, lord and lady of the cemetery. Doesn’t say anything about water or rubies, though, but the section in this book is woefully brief. They are the Ghede lwa though….they’re funny. Helpful but vulgar because they are dead and don’t care.

Angel: I told you she was funny and making me laugh.

Me: It is interesting though because she isn’t black.

Angel: Ahhh which is why I saw her as light skinned.

Me: In this book she is described as a tough-talking woman wearing black, taking no guff from anyone and can cuss up a storm.

Angel: LOL yeah she seems like a tough old birdwil kick butt.

Me: I could see her appearing old because they are often represented as skeletons which is past old.

Angel: She is really really thin but not a skeleton.

Me: Generally the Ghede like purple and black, but this writer has also said that if a lwa tells you differently, go with what they tell you.

Angel: Yeah I saw her with a ring that had a red stone..and the cornmeal or flour and the water. Hmmm. Does she smoke a pipe or cigar?

Me: Doesn’t say.

Angel: I will keep seeing what I can get. I’m gonna ask her for something that may help confirm. I think the water is storms.. does that make sense? Or rain. Not sure. But elemental water.I am seeing the wind and rain whipping around her, but she is controling it. And it is at night. I think a crescent moon.. is in the sky but hard to tell .. full of dark clouds.. not the sea.. storms.. rains..elemental but not a body of water. I see it in a bowl after it fell in the form of rain.

Me: Hmmm.

Angel: Maybe rain water is something used in ritual??

Me: See some of that fits with La Sirene, but again, no rubies. But she is connected to the sea and storms, also not a black woman.

Angel: Oh wow.. ok.. maybe.. hmm could I be picking up on a few different energies then??

Me: Maybe.

Angel: Ahhh frustrating.. sorry..

Me: It almost sounds like a combination of La Sirene and Legba, but dont know.Might just be seeing what I want to see, you know. But the pipe is him. The age and humor fits him. The color red fits him, but not rubies specifically.

Angel: Yeah but a woman.. lol. Red is  the color that connects with her. Maybe the ruby was the way to show me the color, and not so much the stone. The name definitly had that ITA sound. Or RITA. Not sure and something in front of it. This woman is awsome, very funny but yet will kick butt.

I am still not sure of her identity. What’s interesting is that in Sharon Caulder’s book, “The Mark of Voodoo,” Legba is described as having male and female aspects:

Although Legba is most commonly depicted as male, he is not restricted to that gender. There are female initiates of Legba. He is both male and female. The male image is the most common…As a male he is the trickster; as a female he is the way-shower, the teacher. As both–male-female–he is the owner of the vital life force. He has been described as having the ability to be harsh or gentle; after he is gentle, then he is harsh.

In Caulder’s book, this adrogyny surfaces in many of the lwas. I have not encountered this much in my Haitian Vodou books. I wonder how and when that change came about? That is something I will have to ask someone later. If the spirit that Angel saw had been male, I might have thought he was Legba, although I am not sure about the storms association.

Another interesting note is that Sunday morning I was reading about my Raymond Buckland tarot cards and the person Angel described sounds a lot like the High Priestess (Major Arcana, card two). Here is how he describes her:

The Puridai, the matriarch of the Gypsy tribe, sits on a chair on the footboard of her vardo, smoking a pipe…the puridai is usually the oldest woman in the tribe….She is considered the font of wisdom, the holder of the tribal records, the arbitrator of disputes.

High Priestess from the Buckland deck

High Priestess from the Buckland deck

One of her necklaces is of bright red beads. He also writes:

Many Gypsy women smoke pipes. The pipe is symbolic of contemplation and cogitation. It shows patience and a depth of understanding. Its smoke, like the smoke of incense, may carry one’s prayers up to the gods.

The High Priestess would be an appropriate card for a mambo. Confused yet? I am. And seeing as it’s 1:00 am on Monday morning as I write this, I am going to have to ponder more on this another day.

your messages after signing in.

You currently appear offline to amunet44.

amunet44: Hello !!

Me: Drats, missed you

amunet44: oh  hello

Me: invisible too, eh?

amunet44: Nahh Im here

amunet44: LOL

amunet44: yeah

amunet44: being sneaky.. lol

Me: sometimes it’s a good idea

Me: i love all my friends, but all at once is a bit overwhelming

amunet44: Yeah.. the whole psychotic break down thing.. LOL

amunet44: hate when that happens..

Me: so…what types of nonhuman entities have you encountered (if they are not hugely difficult to describe)

amunet44: LOL wow.. so many of them,,

amunet44: I was thinking I should start cataloging. them..lol

Me: that would be great

Me: and very fascinating

amunet44: like some bizarre book straight out of harry potter.. lol

amunet44: LOL

Me: even a separate page of its own on your blog

amunet44: I was kidding.. but .. hmmm

Me: that way you could easily continue adding to it

amunet44: lol

amunet44: true

Me: actually i think it might be both interesting and helpful to people

amunet44: hmm maybe..

amunet44: may just do that..

amunet44: smiles

amunet44: let me see.

amunet44: one of the easier ones to describe

amunet44: I would have to say this weird little .. critter that lived in a friends cellar

amunet44: it was really odd..reminded me of some weird little spider..

Me: that is odd

amunet44: the fun part is it was all done over the net.. never actually was in the house

amunet44: had to get rid of it for her

amunet44: I had no clue the layout of her house.. but got that it was in a cellar before I even knew they had one and also that it lived in a hole.. in the cellar and it was also a tunnel

amunet44: again.. had not idea till I described what I was seeing and found it to be accurate

Me: interesting

amunet44: yeah.. it was a weird little thing

amunet44: basically had to grab and force it back down the tunnel

Me: hehe

amunet44: and kinda trapped it .. with energy wards,.

amunet44: it was not a happ little critter.. I can tell you that

amunet44: happy

amunet44: it was funny.. as I was working on it.. my friend was hearing these loud thumps from the cellar right into the floor upstairs where she was standing and at one point.. and this is creepy

Me: that is

amunet44: I heard it do this really bizarre scream.. it was pissed and before I could even tell her.. she was like.. omg I just hear this really odd screaming noise,.,.

Me: ick

Me: a screaming spider

amunet44: yeah.. and it did it again. and she heard it again.. !! and yeah.. ewww.. and again I did not tell her.. but she physcially heard it on her end..

Me: how did she come to notice it in the first place?

amunet44: it was feeding off the energy in the home..

amunet44: and she would get this weird creepy feeling in her house

Me: yuck

amunet44: yeah.. it sounds crazy or something out of some weird book .,., but it was for real..

amunet44: and it was really odd to come across something like that

amunet44: it was about the size of a medium size dog..

amunet44: and had these intense eyes and weird mouth..

amunet44: and was fuzzy

amunet44: but again.. all astral

amunet44: but made a definite impact on my friend and her home

amunet44: I think it had been there for awhile

Me: do you know much about wingedwolfpsion?

Me: about how she cured herself of vampirism?

amunet44: I have spoken with him a few times but not to much at length..

Me: it’s interesting

amunet44: her

amunet44: LOL

amunet44: was not sure if male or female.. LOL

Me: female

amunet44: I dont think I have read that

Me: diss thinks she’s weird, and i suppose some of her beliefs and practices are, but i like her

amunet44: I am part of the psi guild

amunet44: yeah.. LOL

amunet44: but I like that about people

Me: anyway, she believes her vampirism was caused by an astral parasite that she managed to get rid of

amunet44: I believe that

Me: she documents it at length on one of her sites

amunet44: I have had what I call bottom feeders attached to myself and others.. before

amunet44: hmm

amunet44: I will have to read that..

Me: what i like about her is that she is never afraid to thoroughly answer questions, unlike some of the ultra secretive “i can’t tell you because you might abuse it” types

amunet44: oh I hate that

amunet44: if I tell you I will have to kill you..

amunet44: lol

Me: she explains it quite well, and who’s to say that isn’t one of the causes of vampires

amunet44: I agree.. it definitly is I think a part of it sometimes..

Me: i can kinda relate to that because i suspect mine is related to being a therian walkin

Me: in this case i am the parasite LOL

amunet44: awww.. nahh.. just different needs

Me: i just wonder if not being the original soul causes problems….and maybe blood is like my antirejection drug

amunet44: that is what I was wondering too..

Me: i have fun with these comparisons sometimes, but don’t really know if any of them carry any weight

amunet44: yeah.. its all just guesswork.. in the end.. I guess the why is interesting but not always possible.. I guess just good to deal with it the best way we can.. and life life to the best we can..

amunet44: who really knows .. honestly .. we all can only go by what feels right for each of us

Me: true

Me: science can’t prove everything, and even when it does prove one thing that does not necessarily disprove another

amunet44: what may cause your vamparism for you.. is not the same for me.. but in the end.. we are all in the same boat .. exactly I agree..

Me: true

Me: i am wondering if you have any experience with african or haitian spirits

amunet44: hmmm thinking lol

Me: well, eventually i want to get a reading to find out which of them are around me.

Me: i will likely discuss this with the mambo when i meet her for coffee sometime, but would not mind a backup reading from someone i know

amunet44: I can try to see what is around you.. if you want.. but .. not always sure what I will get.. smiles

Me: i’d appreciate it. let me know if you would like anything in return. i’m not into taking advantage of friends

amunet44: I dont ever mind.. your fine.. no worries.. lool

amunet44: lol

Me: Thanks

Me: well, blog tips are free

amunet44: ahhh see. there ya go.. were all good.. you can help the brain dead with the blogging.. lol

Me: hehe

Me: does it requite a lot of effort to do that?

amunet44: nahhh

amunet44: its good..

amunet44: just have to focus a bit,.

Me: ok

amunet44: the hard part is to not filter what I get.. lol I tend to try to force stuff to fit my own understandings.. lol

Me: yeah, i’ve heard that from other senstives before

amunet44: plus I know some of your back ground.. and that makes it hard too since then I am like.. ok. is it from what I read or is it for real.. lol

Me: yeah, i thought of that

Me: it’s no biggie

amunet44: its fun.. I dont mind..

Me: ok

Me: well, if you sense something we haven’t talked about, that will be very interesting

amunet44: true.. that is always cool when that happens, that way I know I am getting good info ..

amunet44: and connecting correctly

amunet44: do you just want me to scan your energy and see what is around you ??

Me: whatever you prefer

Me: i don’t know the best or easiest way to go about it

Me: *amateur energy worker*

amunet44: LOL we are all students.. trust me..

Me: oh yeah

Me: we are seniors at one think, sophs at another

Me: oops thing

amunet44: yeah.. lol

amunet44: ok.. i have to just connect with your energy..you may feel it.. not sure.. lol so dont swat me like a bug .. ya know defense systems that you may have in place.. LOL

Me: ok

Me: i so far have not swatted people who i knew were connecting

amunet44: ok,.. just good to make sure..

amunet44: im starting to connect.. getting images and feelings..

Me: ok

amunet44: I see an elderly woman.. very thin.. she is not white but is not very dark in her coloring.. and she has white or gey hair .,. not sure.. she is smiling.. and very much connected to you as a guide.of some sort..(tell me if this even slightly connects for you.. or if I am completely off base.. LOL  but, dont tell me any info.. just confirm if it connects with you. )

Me: not sure

Me: but sometimes that happens and it makes sense later

amunet44: let me get more info..

amunet44: sometimes I can pull in a detail that will help

amunet44: she is probably in her 80’s and is very cool.. she seems very happy yet will kick your butt if you do something stupid.. LOL I like her a lot.. ok this is odd. I think she smokes a pipe.. LOL or cigars,, something usally considered more masculine and does not seem to fit with how she looks..

Me: that is interesting

amunet44: cornmeal.. somehow is connected to her too. or flour.. not sure,..

Me: ok that is very interesting

amunet44: oh yeah?? dont tell me anything

amunet44: just if it connectes

Me: cornmeal i know is an offering some of the lwa like, but i’m not sure which ones

amunet44: yes or not

Me: oops sorry

amunet44: crap.. thats ok.. lol

Me: that won’t tell you identity though, as i don’t know either

amunet44: at least I am getting info then.. lol

amunet44: hmmm

amunet44: I will see if I can pull her name for you

Me: cool

amunet44: I will warn you now.. I suck at names. lol but sometimes can get at least the sound.. so hopefully if you hear it .. you will be able to figure it out..

Me: i understand

amunet44: also water is important to her..

amunet44: for cleansing.. I think

amunet44: energy wise

amunet44: hmm maybe he attributes will at least point you in the right direction if I cant get her name.. gonna see if I can get it..

amunet44: she is laughing at me..smiles.. I really like her energy

Me:

amunet44: ooh red stones.. like ruby and garnets connect with her too..

Me: that is very interesting

amunet44: red that color.. means something to her

amunet44: does that make sense??

Me: not yet, but i will look up in some books later

amunet44: ok.. cool

Me: i read so much and all of it starts to run together

amunet44: LOL I bet

amunet44: hmm I think her name has an R in it..

Me: but a lot of the lwas have those kinds of preferences, so that is a good starting point

amunet44: thats what I am hoping.. she seems to want you to know..

amunet44: so yayyy

amunet44: I hope you are writing all this down.. lol

Me: I’m going to send it to myself now

amunet44: ok. good

amunet44: ok back to working on the name and anything else I can get

amunet44: its almost like Rita.. but not.. just has that sound in it.. I think. LOL

amunet44: I think there is a sound before that

amunet44: something ITA..

amunet44: crap.. do you have a list of names you can look at ??

amunet44: anything female that is even close??

Me: a short list

Me: i am finding something interesting and checking now

amunet44: ok. cool

amunet44: she almost feels like a mambo

amunet44: not sure though since I cant say I have really met any.. lol

Me: interesting

amunet44: what I said or what you are reading??

Me: well, not sure here…the name i thought was close is maman brigitte

Me: she is wife of bawon samedi

Me: lord and lady of the cemetery

amunet44: ahhhh,.,. that is what it is I think

Me: doesn’t say anything about water or rubies, though, but the section in this book is woefully brief

amunet44: I think.. lol

Me: i’m going to grab another book

amunet44: crap

amunet44: cool

Me: they are the ghede lwa though….they’re funny

Me: helpful but vulgar

Me: because they

Me: are dead and don’t care

amunet44: I told you she was funny and making me laugh

Me: abot what’s proper

Me: i like baron samedi a lot, his imagery, so that would be cool

amunet44: hmmm is his wife depicted as older like that??

Me: i also saw a really cool painting of baroness brigitte somewhere in steampunk garb

Me: um…it’s hard to say with the lwa

Me: you get different representations of them

amunet44: ahhh got ya

Me: even with legba i see different ones

amunet44: hmmm I hope your other book has more info..

Me: for example, he’s described as an old black man but people us one of the saints to represent him

Me: she is interesting though because she isn’t black

amunet44: ahhh which is why i saw her as light skinned

Me: in this book she is described as a tough-talking woman wearing black, taking no guff from anyone and can cuss up a storm

amunet44: but not white.. hmmm

amunet44: LOL yeah she seems like a tough old bird

amunet44: wil kick butt

Me: she is strong and open about her sexuality

Me: poweful but cares about justice

Me: which i also care a lot about

amunet44: so that makes sense then.. thats cool

Me: i could see her appearing old because they are often represented as skeletons which is past old

Me: lol

amunet44: she is really really thin but not a skeleton

Me: generally the ghede like purple and black, but this writer has also said that if a lwa tells you differently, go with what they tell you

amunet44: yeah I saw her with a ring that had a red stone..

amunet44: and the cornmeal or flour and the water

amunet44: hmmm

amunet44: does she smoke a pipe or cigar>>

amunet44: ??

Me: don’t know…checking

amunet44: ok.. no problem..

amunet44:

Me: doesn’t say

amunet44: I will keep seeing what I can get

amunet44: bummer

Me: he does write “as with other dead spirits, there will be considerable variation among individuals”

amunet44: ohhhh so there goes verifying if I am connecting with her correctly or not.. hate that.. LOL

amunet44: Im gonna ask her for something that may help confirm..

Me: ok

amunet44: i think the water is storms.. does that make sense.

amunet44: or rain..

amunet44: not sure

amunet44: but elemental water

amunet44: I am seeing the wind and rain whipping around her

amunet44: but she is controling it

amunet44: and it is at night

amunet44: i think a crescent moon.. is in the sky but hard to tell .. full of dark clouds..

Me: bleh, thought i’d get lucky at locating but maybe not

Me: here is another possiblity…no “r” though.

Me: ayizan

Me: in haiti seen as the first mambo

amunet44: possibly but not sure.. darn

Me: seen as an old woman with deep pockets

Me: i’ll look some more

Me: says nothing about the sea or rubies

amunet44: not the sea.. storms.. rains..

amunet44: elemental but not a body of water

amunet44: I see it in a bowl after it fell in the form of rain

Me: hmmm

amunet44: hmmm maybe rain water is something used in ritual??

amunet44: LOL

Me: see some of that fits with la sirence, but again, no rubies

Me: but she is connected to the sea and storms

Me: also not a black woman

amunet44: oh wow.. ok.. maybe.. hmm could I be picking up on a few different energies then??

Me: maybe

amunet44: ahhh frustrating.. sorry..

Me: it almost sounds like a combination of la sirene and legba, but dont know

Me: might just be seeing what i want to see, you know

Me: but the pipe is him

Me: the age and humor fits him

Me: the color red fits him, but not rubies specifically

amunet44: yeah but a woman.. lol

amunet44: red

amunet44: is the color that connects with her

amunet44: maybe the rubie was the way to show me the color..

amunet44: and not so much the stone

Me: yeah. they also sometimes request things for whatever reasons they have

Me: the author of one book said he has to servie his legba beans with one chopstick

amunet44: LOL

amunet44: well.. crap I was hoping with your books you may have detailed info to help confirm.. but it seems that is not able to happen.. I wonder if the mambo you want to talk to may know??

Me: i will ask her when i see her. it will be interesting if she gets similar results

Me: there are a ridiculous number of lwas though, so my books might not even have her in it

Me: there is also ezili danto, but the name is not similar

Me: red is one of her colors though

amunet44: the name definitly had that ITA sound

amunet44: or RITA

amunet44: not sure and something in front of it..

amunet44: and yeah let me know what she picks up on.

Me: i would not be surprised if it was brigitte though

amunet44: is she one that you connnect with>??

Me: just because of her being a ghede, and i always felt connected with the concept of death

Me: probably

amunet44: ahhhh lol so that makes sense

Me: other than la sirene

Me: but i kinda feel connected to her already

amunet44: right..

amunet44: so I guess that is why this other woman came through so you can know her better.

Me: la sirene isn’t really known for her humor though

Me: she’s more aloof

amunet44: ahhh

amunet44: then not her..

amunet44: lol

amunet44: this woman is awsome

amunet44: very funny

amunet44: but yet will kick butt

Me: she also is not in any way associated with pipes or tobacco as far as i know

Me: also she is very beautiful, not old

amunet44: yeah.. so this has got to be a different one..

Me: i like the idea of having female spirits around…just fond of women in general

Me: although very fond of legba too

amunet44: awwww. that is nice.. im glad that she is around you then.. that is cool

Me: the spirit you saw sound more like him in personality

amunet44: hmmm

amunet44 is typing a message.

2 Responses to “Lwa connections”

  1. goldenfleece80 Says:

    Hey, thanks for this article. I’ve had some similar experiences and am looking for Chief Caulder, I was told she was the woman who could help me. Do you know where I can find her? Thanks. Continue the important work. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

